How to Become an Ambassador of India?
how to become an ambassador of india

How to Become an Ambassador of India?

In today’s world, it is very important for every country to set up a connection with other countries. For that, countries appoint their representatives in those countries to set up a dialogue between both the countries. This representative of the country to another country is known as an ambassador which is a high-rank diplomat. With the help of these ambassadors, a country promotes its image on an international level and establish cooperation with counties in different sectors. In this modern world, an ambassador plays a very important role in a country’s relations with other countries.

The job profile of an ambassador is highly decorated and respected all over the world. For an ambassador, there are lots of duties to perform with a high number of diplomatic perks to enjoy. This job can be an ideal job for anybody who wants to represent their nation on an international level. So in this article, we are going to talk about how to become an ambassador of India? Here we will discuss the whole process of becoming an ambassador and many other things. We will also discuss some important facts related to this field of diplomats. So make sure to read the article till the end.

Ambassador Job Profile Description

As we know that an ambassador is a high ranking diplomate, they possess extensive experience in the field of diplomacy and foreign service. An ambassador is a representative of his home country in other countries. His job is mainly to carry out his home country’s foreign policy in other countries by the means of talks and dialogue. They also play a very important role in negotiating different treaties between the two countries. They meet with foreign leaders and authorities on a regular basis to promote their country’s foreign policy and to make sure their country’s interests are not comprised.

Whenever a leader visits a foreign country then ambassadors also assist them. They provide leaders with important information which helps them to make the most out of their foreign visits. Apart from that, they keep a close eye on the situations that may cause a diplomatic crisis between their home and host countries. An ambassador also directs the day to day work to the other foreign service officers under him/her. These officers under an ambassador look after many important works in the embassy to ensure their country’s interests.

Since the job profile of an ambassador is of a high reputation with lots of responsibilities and perks, it is not easy to get there. The candidates who want to become an ambassador has to go through a very tough selection and training process. So in the next portion of this article, we will about that process only.

How to Become an Ambassador of India?

So here comes the most important question how to become an ambassador of India? Ambassador is a highly experienced diplomat, therefore to become an ambassador you first have to become a diplomat. Diplomats are chosen from IFS (Indian Foreign Service) officers. In short, to become an ambassador you first have to clear the UPSC exam to become an IFS officer. After that, there is no direct way to get appointed as ambassador. Firstly all the candidates have to gain experience and skills as an IFS officer. Then only on the basis of their performance, some officers get timely promotions to reach the post of an ambassador.

So now it is quite clear that to become an ambassador you first have to clear the UPSC exam to become an IFS officer. For those who don’t know what is the UPSC CSE exam then the full form of UPSC is Union Public Service Commission. This commission conducts Civil Services Exams (CSE )every year to recruit candidates for various posts in civil service. There are a total of 25 different types of civil services in India such as IAS, IPS, IRS, IFS, etc. After this exam, candidates are recruited on the basis of their rank.

UPSC Exam Overview

Since this UPSC exam is the gateway to become an IFS officer then we should know some general facts regarding this exam. This exam is divided into three stages and it is compulsory to clear all the stages to become an IFS officer. The first two stages consist of a written exam and the last stage is an interview round. All the stages test the candidates on various factors to make sure only the best candidates are hired. Let’s have a look at each stage to discuss some details related to it.

UPSC Prelims

The first stage of UPSC CSE is the preliminary exam. This exam is consists of two papers and both the papers have objective type questions. The first paper is the General Ability Test (GAT) whereas the second paper is known as Service Aptitude Test (CSAT). These papers test the analytical skills of the candidate. The candidates who manage to clear this stage appear for the second stage of the exam.

UPSC Mains

After clearing the preliminary exam the candidates have to appear for the mains examination. This mains exam consists of nine papers to test the candidates on various factors. Questions in these papers are subjective in nature and it will be Hindi and English language.

Personality Test

The candidates who clear the mains exam appear for the personality test round. This is the final stage of the UPSC CSE exam. This stage consists of a Psychometric Test, Assessment Test, and a Personal Interview. The motive of this stage is to analyze the candidate’s personality and hire only the best candidates for civil services. The result of this stage is merit-based and on the basis of that merit only candidates are recruited in the civil services.

Now suppose if you manage to clear all these three-stage and secure the required rank in the merit list for IFS. After this, you will have to go through the training process for the IFS officer and after that, you will get posting according to your performance. Then you will have to earn experience and promotion in your service to reach to the post of an ambassador.

Final Words

So friends this was all the important information on how to become an ambassador of India. If you find this information useful the feel free to share this article with your friends.

Leave a Reply